DPR-Korea New Zealand

Promoting diplomatic and cultural relations between the Democratic People's Republic of Korea and New Zealand.


“The State shall adhere to the class line and strengthen the dictatorship of the people’s democracy…”

– Article 12, Socialist Constitution of the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea

Leader Kim Jong-Il casts votePolitical system: One-party rule, based on juche (self-reliance) ideology. The songun (military first) ideology also impacts on the political system.

National government: Workers’ Party of Korea (WPK)
National legislature: Supreme People’s Assembly (SPA), unicameral, 687 members appointed for five-year terms.

Head of State: Kim Jong-Un – Supreme Leader of the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, First Secretary of the Workers’ Party of Korea, First Chairman of the National Defence Commission, Supreme Commander of the Korean People’s Army, & Chairman of the Central Military Commission. (Nominally, the deceased Kim Il-Sung remains President for eternity)

Head of Government: Premier – Pak Pong-Ju

Key Ministers:

SPA Presidium President – Kim Yong-Nam
Vice Chairman, National Defence Commission – Vice Marshal Ri Yong-Mu
Minister of Defence – General Pak Yong-Sik
Minister of Finance – Choe Kwang-Jin
Minister of People’s Security – Choe Pu-Il
Minister of Procurement and Food Administration – Mun Ung-Jo
Minister of Foreign Affairs – Ri Su-Yong
Minister of Foreign Trade – Ri Yong-Nam
Permanent Representative to the United Nations – Ja Song-Nam

Key Opposition MPs: None

Main political parties: The Workers’ Party of Korea (WPK) is nominally in coalition with the Social Democratic Party and the Chondoist Chongu Party.